The Great Gatsby

Historical fiction is one of my favorite genres. “The Great Gatsby” is one of those where you are taken back in time and taken through the minds of fictional characters that could easily be non-fiction. I thought this was a great analysis.

 

All due respect,

 

J.L. Cordova

Cristian Mihai

Some of you know that The Great Gatsby is my favorite novel. I never fully explained why, and the truth is that I wanted to write this post for a long time, but I was reluctant because The Great Gatsby is so popular that some people will say they’ve loved it for that, the same way some will say they hated it because it’s cool to hate everything that’s popular. You know, it’s a common misconception that popular always means of lesser quality.

But this is just my opinion. Also, I’ll never say The Great Gatsby is the best novel ever written. I don’t think such a thing exists. Instead, I believe there are a few novels out there that are perfect.

My definition of perfect is the following: a story where a balance has been established. There’s nothing to be taken away, nothing to be added. I’d list a number of such…

View original post 812 more words

One thought on “The Great Gatsby

  1. FYI, The Great Gatsby isn’t a historical novel just because it’s set in the past; the story takes place in the early 1920s, but the book was published in 1925. Fitzgerald was writing about his present, whereas historical fiction is a work based on past historical events, usually with fictional characters and some fabrications. For example, The Red Badge of Courage, The Other Boleyn Girl, and The Name of the Rose are all historical novels.

Leave a Reply

