Live Action Jungle Book!

So…This happened.

Let’s…Let’s talk about this.

First of all, that stunning jungle set! CGI or not, well done, Disney. So thick, so lush, so mysterious and deadly. It looks incredible! The cinematography in this world Disney created is just brilliant (so it seems from the trailer).

This new Jungle Book movie is going to be directed by Jon Favreau. This top Disney name helped produce the Iron Man series (okay…), Chef (ooh, okay)… and then he’s directed the Avengers movies and “Cowboys & Aliens” (aw crap).

In my very oh so humble opinion, this movie is going to either be really good or really bad. The Iron Man series was good, but I’m not a big fan of the Avengers movies…neither do I love “Cowboys & Aliens”. (If you do, please comment and tell me why. I genuinely want to know). And the executive producers listed have very little experience in this particular genre. Though one of them helped produce “Avatar” (2009). Yay. So, the pre-production group seems unimpressive.

The cast looks interesting to say the least. Mowgli is played by a budding young actor with only two credits, according to IMDB. “The Jungle Book” being one of them. Nothing wrong with that; I like new faces. And then we have beloved names voicing the animals–Bill Murray, Scarlet Johansson, and Ben Kingsley. So far: cast check, scenery/set check, director? eh.

kah

Also another concerning thing to me is the soundtrack. Where are my bongos syncing with a jungle-boy call? Princess-movie vocals aren’t doing anything for me. Since its just the trailer, I’m giving benefit of the doubt for music.

You have to understand that I loved the animated Disney “Jungle Book” when I was a kid. The story was fascinating to me. So the kid in me truly, truly wants to see this live-action revamp at its best. My main concern is this: I don’t see how it will be good if the animals talk. I feel like they could do a good job with realistic-acting animals. Sure the whole movie would have little to no dialogue in it (much like “Life of Pi”, where narration was almost a necessity), but it could be pulled off. I would prefer it that way. Think about it; that’d be cool.

mowgli
Look at the gorgeous art. Definitely going all out on the jungle. So exciting.

Because there’s popular names in the cast (not to mention Kah’s dialogue in the trailer above), I highly doubt it will be done that way. But all the same, I’m interested to know how Favreau is going to pull it off. Another thing I noticed on the IMDB page is a puppeteer in the cast list. I am quite interested in this. Puppets need to be brought back to the cinema. CGI is making everything look fake (just look at “Avengers: Age of Ultron” and “Mockingjay: Part 1). Don’t know if this is just a character in the movie or an actual puppeteer, but all the same, it has peaked my interest.

A last thought to keep in mind is the actual story. How will they keep the story in the animated classic with live, scary-looking CGI animals? Or will they actually go by Rudyard Kipling’s original story in the Jungle Book…book?

Here’s hoping for a phenomenal twist on this beautiful classic,

All due respect,

JJ

Leave a Reply

