My Top and Bottom Five

Summer movies have come and gone–what is the result? I had a hard time keeping up with the blog this summer. Managed to write a few reviews, but this is an overview of my thoughts for the summer–top and bottom 5.

I’d Watch These Again

  1. Straight Outta Compton 
  2. Trainwreck
  3. Inside Out
  4. Southpaw
  5. Jurassic World

Why? “Straight Outta Compton” was incredible in every way, except for a few minor historical inaccuracies (or just plain lacking negative aspects of the rappers’ lives). “Trainwreck” was indeed flawless. I laughed from beginning to end. “Inside Out” was another Pixar masterpiece. Exceptional casting and storyline. “Southpaw”…I liked, I didn’t love. Jake Gyllenhaal and Oona Laurence, and Rachel McAdams  performed brilliantly. The downside is just personal–I’m not a wrestling fan, so critic scenes in the ring weren’t appealing to me much. Lastly, “Jurassic World”. Only afterwards did I think about plot holes and story flaws, as I was so engrossed in a brilliant visual experience. At the end, she’s running from the T-Rex in high heels. You think about it now, but during the movie wasn’t it cool?? Did it give justice to the Spielberg classics? I don’t think so, but it still gave me chills.

Please Spare Me.

  1. Avengers: Age of Ultron
  2. Tomorrowland
  3. Mad Max: Fury Road
  4. American Ultra
  5. San Andreas

I won’t spend to much time complaining about the lack of cost-worthy movies in Hollywood’s bulletin boards…that’s for another time. “Avengers: Age of Ultron” didn’t capture me in the slightest. I fell asleep. A film that did not do the first one justice, and is supposedly is just a bridge to the next sequel, which is “supposed” to be better. So was it made just to fill a gap? Debatable. “Tomorrowland” with George Clooney lacked so much story and character development–also zoned out during an action scene in this movie. “Mad Max 4”, yes, Mad Max 4. I’ll write a post about this another time, but I do not understand the hype about this film. “American Ultra” lacked story and could have made it longer and better, delving into the background of the assassin experiment. Disappointed me. And finally, “San Andreas”. Maybe you remember that random Dwayne Johnson film about earthquakes? Some of the chase/action scenes are pretty incredible in that movie. I remember being kinda bored during parts, dragging out cheesy dialogue, like the Rock always does. In every movie ever. I think that’s why I liked Fast and Furious 7 so much: he wasn’t in most of it. Sad but true.

So there you have it. If you have your own type five, comment and tell me why. MOVIES.

JJ

Leave a Reply

